Proms 2023

Mozart and the chevalier de Saint-George

in Paris

by Les Folies françoises

Tuesday, July 25th – Musical promenade *

Mozart came to Paris for the first time, at the age of eight, while touring the capitals of Europe, dazzling the French court with his precocious genius. In December 1763, the family stayed at Versailles for the end-of-year celebrations. On this occasion, Mozart composed the sonatas K. 6, 7, 8 and 9, which he dedicated to Madame Victoire de France.

His second stay in the French capital in 1778 did not go at all as planned: Mozart found neither a suitable position nor the patrons he had hoped for. Then his mother, who was accompanying him, died. That same year, he composed brilliant variations for harpsichord on the popular tune “Ah, vous dirai-je maman…”.

An equally surprising figure for the time was the Chevalier de Saint-George: born in Guadeloupe to a French nobleman and a black slave, he enthralled his contemporaries with his versatile abilities, whether artistic or sporting. A formidable fencer, he was also an excellent violinist and a talented composer, as shown by his Sonata III for violin and harpsichord.

Les Folies françoises

The baroque ensemble Les Folies françoises was founded in 2000 by three musicians with both complementary and passionate personalities: the violinist Patrick Cohën-Akenine, the harpsichordist Béatrice Martin and the cellist François Poly. What characterizes the ensemble is the permanent search for singular and authentic sound in the interpretation of European baroque music of the Age of Enlightenment.

Les Folies françoises is a multi-faceted ensemble, offering programmes in trio, ensemble or orchestra, gathering talented instrumental and vocal soloists. In 20 years and some 500 concerts, this baroque ensemble has definitely made its mark on the musical scene and impressed its specific options, through its stage and concert performances as well as its recordings.

Since its creation, transmission and sharing have been at the core of the artistic approach of the ensemble, ever eager to meet any audience.

Patrick Cohën-Akenine

violin and artistic direction

 

© Manuel Braun

After successful studies (first prize at the Paris Conservatoire, prize from the Ministry of Culture…), Patrick Cohën-Akenine has established himself as a prominent musician on the baroque scene. For several years, he was first violin in such prestigious ensembles as Le Concert Spirituel, Les Talents Lyriques, Les Arts Florissants…

He is regularly invited to conduct orchestras such as the Orchestre des Pays de Savoie, the Rouen Opera, the Escolia Superior de Música in Barcelona, the Paris Conservatoire of Music and Dance… In 2008, with Les Folies françoises and the Centre de Musique Baroque de Versailles, Patrick Cohën-Akenine undertook the reconstruction of Les Vingt-Quatre Violons du Roi.

With a heart for transmission, Patrick Cohën-Akenine is a professor of baroque violin at the Versailles CRR and has also been teaching for 20 ans at the Paris-Saclay CRD.

Béatrice Martin

harpsicord

© Manuel Braun

Béatrice Martin studied with great harpsichordists: Christiane Jaccottet, Kenneth Gilbert and Christophe Rousset. She has won numerous first prizes with the highest distinctions and also received valuable advice from Huguette Dreyfus, Ton Koopman and Lars Ulrik Mortensen during master-classes.

Béatrice Martin is regularly invited as a recitalist at numerous festivals and music venues: Théâtre du Châtelet, Cité de la Musique de Paris, Festival d’Ambronay, Festival d’Utrecht, London Festival of Baroque Music….

Recognized for her teaching skills, she teaches at the Paris CRR, at the Julliard School in New York, at the Haute École de Musique in Geneva.

© Manuel Braun

Programme

Pieces by Mozart, Schobert, Balbastre and the chevalier de Saint-George.

Patrick Cohën-Akenine, violin and artistic direction

Béatrice Martin, harpsichord

Based at Orleans in the Centre-Val de Loire Region, Les Folies françoises are supported, as a government-regulated ensemble, by the Ministry of Culture (DRAC Centre-Val de Loire), the Centre-Val de Loire Region and the city of Orleans. As to specific projects, the ensemble regularly receives the support of Spedidam, Adami, the French Institute, the CNM and its patrons. The ensemble is a member of FEVIS and of the Profedim union.

* The musical promenade :
two concerts at the Valloire church (different programmes), the first at 11 am, the second at 5 pm.
In between, a hike to the hamlet of Poingt-Ravier, a picnic on the alp with the musicians and a Libre-cours lecture by Gaël de Kerret, with the participation of Sylvie Aerts: Paris s’éveille

Proms 2023

Mozart et le chevalier de Saint-George

à Paris

par Les Folies françoises

Mardi 25 juillet – Promenade musicale *

C’est lors d’un voyage dans les capitales d’Europe que Mozart se rend pour la première fois à Paris, à l’âge de huit ans ; il éblouit la cour de France par la précocité de son génie. En décembre 1763, la famille séjourne à Versailles pour les fêtes de fin d’année. A cette occasion, Mozart compose les sonates K. 6, 7, 8 et 9, qu’il dédie à Madame Victoire de France.

Son second séjour dans la capitale française en 1778 ne se passe pas du tout comme prévu : Mozart ne trouve ni poste qui lui convienne, ni soutiens espérés. Puis sa mère, qui l’accompagnait, décède. Cette même année, il compose de brillantes variations pour clavecin sur l’air populaire de « Ah, vous dirai-je maman… ».

Tout aussi surprenante pour l’époque est la figure du chevalier de Saint-George : né en Guadeloupe d’un noble français et d’une esclave noire, il subjugue ses contemporains par la diversité de ses aptitudes, qu’elles soient artistiques ou sportives. Escrimeur redoutable, il est aussi excellent violoniste et compositeur de talent, comme en témoigne sa Sonate III pour violon et clavecin.

Les Folies françoises

L’ensemble baroque Les Folies françoises est créé en 2000 par des musiciens aux personnalités complémentaires et passionnées : le violoniste Patrick Cohën-Akenine, la claveciniste Béatrice Martin et le violoncelliste François Poly. Il se caractérise par une recherche sonore singulière et authentique dans l’interprétation des musiques baroques européennes du Siècle des Lumières.

Polymorphes, Les Folies françoises proposent des programmes en trio, en ensemble ou encore en orchestre dans lesquels sont réunis des solistes instrumentaux et vocaux talentueux. En 20 ans et quelque 500 concerts, cet ensemble baroque a su marquer la scène musicale et affirmer ses spécificités, tant par ses réalisations scéniques et concertantes que discographiques.

Depuis sa création, la transmission et le partage sont au cœur de la démarche artistique de l’ensemble et c’est avec enthousiasme qu’il va à la rencontre de tous les publics.

Patrick Cohën-Akenine

violon et direction artistique

 

© Manuel Braun

A l’issue d’études couronnées de succès (premier prix du CNSM de Paris, prix du Ministère de la Culture…), Patrick Cohën-Akenine s’impose comme un musicien incontournable de la scène baroque. Pendant plusieurs années, il est premier violon dans des ensembles aussi prestigieux que Le Concert Spirituel, Les Talents Lyriques, Les Arts Florissants…

Il est régulièrement invité à diriger des orchestres : l’Orchestre des Pays de Savoie, de l’Opéra de Rouen, de l’Escolia Superior de Música de Barcelone, du CNSM de Paris…. En 2008, avec Les Folies françoises et le Centre de Musique Baroque de Versailles, Patrick Cohën-Akenine reconstitue Les Vingt-Quatre Violons du roi.

Ayant à cœur la transmission, Patrick Cohën-Akenine est professeur de violon baroque au CRR de Versailles. Il enseigne également depuis 20 ans au CRD de Paris-Saclay.

Béatrice Martin

Clavecin

© Manuel Braun

Béatrice Martin étudie avec de grandes personnalités du clavecin : Christiane Jaccottet, Kenneth Gilbert et Christophe Rousset. Elle obtient de nombreux premiers prix avec les plus hautes distinctions et reçoit également les précieux conseils d’Huguette Dreyfus, Ton Koopman et Lars Ulrik Mortensen lors de master-classes.

Béatrice Martin est régulièrement sollicitée en récital par de nombreux festivals et structures : Théâtre du Châtelet, Cité de la Musique de Paris, Festival d’Ambronay, Festival d’Utrecht, London Festival of Baroque Music….

Reconnue pour sa pédagogie, elle enseigne au CRR de Paris, à la Julliard School de New York, à la Haute École de Musique de Genève.

© Manuel Braun

Programme

Œuvres de Mozart, Schobert, Balbastre et le chevalier de Saint-George.

Patrick Cohën-Akenine, violon et direction artistique

Béatrice Martin, clavecin

Installées à Orléans en Région Centre-Val de Loire, Les Folies françoises sont soutenues au titre de l’aide aux ensembles conventionnés par le Ministère de la Culture (DRAC Centre-Val de Loire), la Région Centre-Val de Loire et la ville d’Orléans. Sur des projets spécifiques, l’ensemble reçoit régulièrement le soutien de la Spedidam, de l’Adami, de l’Institut français, du CNM et de ses mécènes. L’ensemble est membre de la FEVIS & du syndicat Profedim.

* La promenade musicale :
deux concerts à l’église de Valloire (programmes différents), le premier à 11h et le second à 17h,
entrecoupés d’une promenade en alpage vers Poingt-Ravier, d’un déjeuner sur l’herbe avec les musiciens et d’un Libre-cours donné par Gaël de Kerret, assisté de Sylvie Aerts : Paris s’éveille