POLOGNE – Clematis_En

Programme
 
Zieleński’s journey to Venice
 
Biagio Marini (1594 – 1663)
Sonata in Ecco con tre violini
 
Mikolaj Zieleński (c. 1550 – c. 1615)
Gustate et videte
 
Alessandro Grandi (1590 – 1630)
Salve Regina
 
 
Tarquinio Merula in Warsaw
 
Adam Jarzębski (c. 1590 – 1648)
Sentinella
 
Tarquinio Merula (1595 – 1665)
Intonazione del nono tono
Favus distillans
 
Marcin Mielczewski (c. 1600 – 1651)
Canzona à 4
 
Tarquinio Merula
Su la cetra amorosa – Ciaconna
 
_______ entracte ??
 
Impressions of Poland
 
Giovanni Picchi (c. 1571 – 1643)
Ballo alla Polacca
 
Johann Heinrich Schmelzer (c. 1620 – 1680)
Pölnische Sachpfeifen
 
 
Gdansk, the Baltic Sea port
 
Crato Büttner (1616 – 1679)
Ich suchte des Nachts
 
Carlo Farina (c. 1600 – 1639)
Pavana tertia
 
Kaspar Förster (1616 – 1673)
Vanitas Vanitatum (extract)
 
 
The enigmatic Szarzyński
 
Stanisław Sylwester Szarzyński (fl. 1692-1713)
Sonata à 2
Ave Regina

 
With the participation of Maïlys de Villoutreys, soprano
 
Clematis
Stéphanie de Failly, violin and direction
Amandine Solano, violin
Ellie Nimeroski, violin and viola
Marion Martineau, bass viol
Brice Sailly, harpsichord, organ and direction

 

Poland: Airs and dances alla Polacca!

Tuesday July 28th, 21:00 – Valloire church
Wednesday July 29th, 21:00 – Saint-Alban-d’Hurtières church
 
In the 17th century, musical life picks up momentum in Poland as Polish musicians readily embrace the novelties of Italian Baroque. Mikolaj Zieleński thus spends some time in Venice where he has a collection of sacred works published. As early as 1624, Tarquinio Merula leaves Venice for a post as organist at the court at Warsaw. At about the same time, Marco Schacchi has some of his operas and ballets performed there.
Italian influence shows in the compositions of local musicians such as Marcin Mielczewski, Adam Jarzębski or Sylwester Szarzyński and can even be felt at Gdansk, where Carlo Farina then resides, in the works of composers born from Lutheran communities, such as Crato Bütter or Kapsar Förster. This is probably why, as a remembrance of these contacts with Polish popular music, composers from Italy, as Picchi, or Austria, as Schmelzer, will compose dances said alla Polacca, imitating Polish bagpipes.

 

Ensemble Clematis

The clematis is a symbol of idealism and creativeness. Guided by these two principles, violinist Stéphanie de Failly creates the Clematis ensemble in 2001 to explore the lesser-known repertoire of the 17th century. All active within the best baroque ensembles, the musicians are chosen for their adequacy with each specific project. The ensemble travels extensively, in Belgium and abroad. It approaches the Italian repertoire as well as German or French works, and breathes new life into the forgotten pages of composers such as Nicolaus à Kempis, Carolus Hacquart or Gioseffe Zamponi whose opera “Ulisse all’isola di Circe” Clematis has restored and re-created. Highly interested in the expansion of the violin repertoire, Clematis has made recordings devoted to Carlo Farina, Giovanni Battista and Tomaso Antonio Vitali whose famous “Ciaconna” Stéphanie de Failly has recorded. Since 2018, Clematis has been co-directed by Stéphanie de Failly and Brice Sailly.
 
Stéphanie de Failly trains classical violinists in “historically informed” performance practices at the Royal Conservatoire of Liège and coaches “modern” ensembles for the interpretation of baroque works. She plays a 1699 Giovanni Battista Rogeri violin.
 
Brice Sailly is a continuo player, much sought after by all major ensembles.
He teaches at the Conservatoire à Rayonnement Régional of Rueil-Malmaison.
 

Maïlys de Villoutreys is regularly invited by a number of ensembles: Les Folies Françoises, Amarillis, La Rêveuse, Desmarest, Pygmalion for Bach’s Cantatas and Passions, les Musiciens du Louvre, Le Banquet Céleste, Die Kölner Akademie…
Her operatic repertoire includes Barberina, Pamina, Amour (“Orphée et Eurydice”), Melia (“Apollo et Hyacinthus”), Clarine (“Platée”). From 2014 to 2017, she is the Coquette in “La Double Coquette”, a baroque and contemporary opera by Dauvergne and Pesson, played a number of times both in France and abroad.
 
Mention obligatoire ?
 
Andreas Hammerschmidt : Nun danket alle Gott
by the Clematis ensemble with the participation of soprano Julie Roset (heard at Valloire in 2018)

POLOGNE – Clematis_Fr

Programme
 
Le voyage de Zieleński à Venise
 
Biagio Marini (1594 – 1663)
Sonata in Ecco con tre violini
 
Mikolaj Zieleński (v. 1550 – v. 1615)
Gustate et videte
 
Alessandro Grandi (1590 – 1630)
Salve Regina
 
 
Tarquinio Merula à Varsovie
 
Adam Jarzębski (v. 1590 – 1648)
Sentinella
 
Tarquinio Merula (1595 – 1665)
Intonazione del nono tono
Favus distillans
 
Marcin Mielczewski (v. 1600 – 1651)
Canzona à 4
 
Tarquinio Merula
Su la cetra amorosa – Ciaconna
 
_______ entracte ??
 
Impressions de Pologne
 
Giovanni Picchi (v. 1571 – 1643)
Ballo alla Polacca
 
Johann Heinrich Schmelzer (v. 1620 – 1680)
Pölnische Sachpfeifen
 
 
Gdansk, port de la mer Baltique
 
Crato Büttner (1616 – 1679)
Ich suchte des Nachts
 
Carlo Farina (v. 1600 – 1639)
Pavana tertia
 
Kaspar Förster (1616 – 1673)
Vanitas Vanitatum (extrait)
 
 
L’énigmatique Szarzyński
 
Stanisław Sylwester Szarzyński (fl. 1692-1713)
Sonata à 2
Ave Regina

 
Avec la participation de Maïlys de Villoutreys, soprano
 
Ensemble Clematis
Stéphanie de Failly, violon et direction
Amandine Solano, violon
Ellie Nimeroski, violon et alto
Sarah Van Oudenhove, basse de viole
Brice Sailly, clavecin, orgue et direction

 

Pologne :
Airs et danses alla Polacca !

Mardi 28 juillet, 21h – Eglise de Valloire
 
Au XVIIe siècle, la vie musicale se développe considérablement en Pologne et les musiciens polonais s’ouvrent aux innovations du baroque italien. Ainsi Mikolaj Zieleński séjourne à Venise où il fait éditer un recueil de musique sacrée. Dès 1624, le Vénitien Tarquinio Merula est employé à la cour de Varsovie comme organiste. Marco Schacchi, à la même époque, y fait représenter des opéras et des ballets.
L’influence italienne se ressent dans les compositions des musiciens locaux comme Marcin Mielczewski, Adam Jarzębski, Sylwester Szarzyński ou Andrzej Rohaczewki et se retrouve même à Gdansk, où séjourne alors Carlo Farina, chez des compositeurs issus des communautés luthériennes, comme Crato Bütter ou Kapsar Förster. Et c’est sans doute en souvenir de ces contacts avec la musique populaire polonaise que des compositeurs italiens comme Picchi ou autrichiens comme Schmelzer composeront des danses alla Polacca, à l’imitation des cornemuses polonaises.
 

Ensemble Clematis

Clematis, la clématite, symbolise l’idéalisme et la créativité. C’est selon ces deux principes que la violoniste Stéphanie de Failly crée l’ensemble Clematis en 2001 dans le but de travailler le répertoire méconnu du XVIIe siècle. Il réunit des musiciens choisis en fonction de chaque projet, tous actifs au sein des meilleures formations baroques. Hors la Belgique, l’ensemble voyage beaucoup à l’étranger. Il aborde aussi bien le répertoire italien que des œuvres allemandes ou françaises ou fait revivre les pages oubliées de compositeurs comme Nicolaus à Kempis, Carolus Hacquart, ou encore Gioseffe Zamponi, dont l’opéra Ulisse all’isola di Circe a fait l’objet d’un travail de restitution et re-création par Clematis. L’ensemble s’intéresse au développement du répertoire du violon, d’où les enregistrements consacrés à Carlo Farina, Giovanni Battista et Tomaso Antonio Vitali dont Stéphanie de Failly a enregistré la célèbre Ciaconna. Depuis 2018, Clematis est co-dirigé par Stéphanie de Failly et Brice Sailly.
 
Stéphanie de Failly est chargée de l’initiation des violonistes de formation classique au jeu « historiquement informé » au C R de Liège et prépare des orchestres « modernes » à l’interprétation du répertoire baroque. Elle joue un violon Giovanni Battista Rogeri de 1699.
 
Brice Sailly est un continuiste recherché par tous les grands ensembles.
Il enseigne au Conservatoire à Rayonnement Régional de Rueil-Malmaison.
 

Maïlys de Villoutreys est régulièrement invitée par de nombreux ensembles : Les Folies Françoises, Amarillis, La Rêveuse, Desmarest, Pygmalion pour des Cantates et Passions de Bach, les Musiciens du Louvre, Le Banquet Céleste, Die Kölner Akademie…
Son répertoire lyrique comporte les rôles de Barberina, Pamina, Amour (Orphée et Eurydice), Melia (Apollon et Hyacinthe), Clarine (Platée). De 2014 à 2017, elle est la Coquette de l’opéra baroque et contemporain La Double Coquette de Dauvergne et Pesson, joué de nombreuses fois en France et à l’étranger.
 
Andreas Hammerschmidt : Nun danket alle Gott
par l’ensemble Clematis avec la participation de la chanteuse Julie Roset (entendue à Valloire en 2018)