Sketches of Europe – Rinascere_En

Programme
 
Andrea Falconieri (c. 1585 –1656)
Batalla de Barrabas yerno de Satanas, Il primo libro di canzoni, sinfonie, fantasie, canzoni, capricci, brandi, correnti, gagliarde alemane (Naples, 1650)
 
Giulio Caccini (1551 –1618)
Dalla porta d’Oriente – Poem by Maria Menadori, Nuove musiche e nuova maniera di scriverle (Florence, 1614)
 
Claudio Monteverdi (1567 – 1643)
Lamento della Ninfa – Poem by Ottavio Rinuccini – Madrigali guerrieri et amorosi (Venise, 1638)
 
Ignazio Donati (c. 1570 – 1638)
O Gloriosa domina – Flores praestantissimorum virorum (Milan, 1626)
 
Johan Vierdanck (c. 1605 –1646)
Sonata no 28 – Capricci, Canzoni und Sonaten (Rostock, 1641)
 
Marco Antonio Ferro (c. 1600 – 1662)
Sonata n°10, Sonate a 2, 3, 4 strumenti e b.c. op. 1 (Venise, 1649)
 
Andrea Falconieri
Passcaglia, Il primo libro di canzoni, sinfonie, fantasie, canzoni, capricci, brandi, correnti, gagliarde alemane (Naples, 1650)
 
Claudio Monteverdi
Zefiro torna e di soavi accenti – Poème d’Ottavio Rinuccini – Scherzi musicali (Venice, 1632)
Si dolce è’l tormento – Quarto scherzo delle ariose vaghezze (Venice, 1624)
 
William Brade (1560 – 1630)
Dance suite – Der Pilligrienen Tanz, Der Rothschenken Tanz, Ein Scottisch Tanz, Der Satyrn Tanz Branden, Intraden, Mascharaden, Balletten, All’manden, Couranten, Volten (Hambourg et Lübeck, 1617)
 
Lise Viricel, soprano
 
Ensemble Rinascere
Adrien Ramon, Clément Formatché, cornettos
Clément Carpentier, tenor and alto sackbuts
Romain Davazoglou, tenor sackbuts
Cyril Bernhard, bass sackbut
Benoit Maurin, percussions
Alice Baudoin, harpsichord

Sketches of Europe, at the crossroads of the Renaissance and Baroque

Monday July 27th, 15:00 – Espace Culturel Le Savoie, Saint-Michel-de-Maurienne
 
The fascination held by the Italian Renaissance, whether in the sciences or the arts, spreads well beyond the Alps, as well as its predilection for brass instruments. Cornettos and sackbuts find their way into churches, playing colla parte with the choir, and into courts, providing pomp and luster.
According to period treatises, early brass instruments and the human voice, which the Renaissance had elected as the ultimate expression of affects, indisputably share a close kinship.
Rinascere agrees and inventively follows suit. Thus, in Monteverdi’s “Lamento della Ninfa”, male voices are replaced by the expressive tone of the brass. In Donati’s “O gloriosa domina“, the cornetto imitates the soprano voice.
Resuming their dialogue with the soprano voice, Rinascere’s brass instruments eloquently emulate its inflections in Monteverdi‘s madrigals, with the joyful “Zefiro torna“ contrasting with the lovesick “Si dolce è’l tormento“.
 

Ensemble Rinascere

Rinascere was born from the joint ambition of six musicians to cast new light on the repertoire for cornettos, sackbuts and percussion. The conjectured affinity between early brass instruments and the voice in time confirmed itself as a source of musical creation for them.
Rinascere builds a musical tale of Europe at the time of the Renaissance and early Baroque, weaving together original works for consorts of brass instruments and various transcriptions of vocal works or canzone for string ensembles, alternating the diverse aesthetics of compositions by Caccini, Monteverdi, Gesualdo, Schein, Scheidt, Holborne, Castello, Frescobaldi, Gabrieli…
These musicians, all graduates of prominent French and German music schools, are known for their skills as “modern” instrumentalists. Their contemporary approach of these 15th, 16th and 17th-century pieces lends them a fresh shine.
 

Lise Viricel

starts studying singing at 7 and enters the Lyon Opera Maîtrise where she addresses a wide repertoire while also studying drama, a dual curriculum she will pursue. In 2008, she joins Marie-Claude Vallin’s class of Early music singing at the Lyon CNSMD, where she perfects her knowledge of baroque styles, and her technique both as a soloist and choir singer, practicing one-voice-a-part singing, until her Master’s degree in 2013.
Meanwhile, she sings in many productions dedicated to Bach, Monteverdi, Purcell, Vivaldi, Carissimi, Rameau… On stage, she is Eurydice in Gluck’s “Orphée et Eurydice“, Eurialo in Cavalli’s “L’Oristeo“ and Céphise in “Alcione“ by Marin Marais, directed by Jordi Savall.
She appears with a number of prestigious ensembles such as Arsys Bourgogne, Concerto Soave or the Capella Reial de Catalunya.
Finally, she is Jeanne in “Jeanne et la chambre à airs“, a show written for the young public by Karin Serres.
 
Mention obligatoire ?

Paysages d’Europe – Rinascere_Fr

Programme
 
Andrea Falconieri (v. 1585 – 1656)
Batalla de Barrabas yerno de Satanas, Il primo libro di canzoni, sinfonie, fantasie, canzoni, capricci, brandi, correnti, gagliarde alemane (Naples, 1650)
 
Giulio Caccini (1551 – 1618)
Dalla porta d’Oriente – Poème de Maria Menadori, Nuove musiche e nuova maniera di scriverle (Florence, 1614)
 
Claudio Monteverdi (1567 – 1643)
Lamento della Ninfa – Poème d’Ottavio Rinuccini – Madrigali guerrieri et amorosi (Venise, 1638)
 
Ignazio Donati (v. 1570 – 1638)
O Gloriosa domina – Flores praestantissimorum virorum (Milan, 1626)
 
Johan Vierdanck (v. 1605 – 1646)
Sonata no 28 – Capricci, Canzoni und Sonaten (Rostock, 1641)
 
Marco Antonio Ferro (v. 1600 – 1662)
Sonata n°10, Sonate a 2, 3, 4 strumenti e b.c. op. 1 (Venise, 1649)
 
Andrea Falconieri
Passacaglia, Il primo libro di canzoni, sinfonie, fantasie, canzoni, capricci, brandi, correnti, gagliarde alemane (Naples, 1650)
 
Claudio Monteverdi
Zefiro torna e di soavi accenti – Poème d’Ottavio Rinuccini – Scherzi musicali (Venise, 1632)
Si dolce è’l tormento – Quarto scherzo delle ariose vaghezze (Venise, 1624)
 
William Brade (1560 – 1630)
Suite de danses – Der Pilligrienen Tanz, Der Rothschenken Tanz, Ein Scottisch Tanz, Der Satyrn Tanz Branden, Intraden, Mascharaden, Balletten, All’manden, Couranten, Volten (Hambourg et Lübeck, 1617)
 
Lise Viricel, soprano
 
Ensemble Rinascere
Adrien Ramon, Clément Formatché, cornets à bouquin
Clément Carpentier, sacqueboutes ténor et alto
Romain Davazoglou, sacqueboute ténor
Cyril Bernhard, sacqueboute basse
Benoit Maurin, percussions
Alice Baudoin, clavecin

Paysages d’Europe, à la croisée de la Renaissance et du Baroque

Lundi 27 juillet, 15h – Espace Culturel Le Savoie, Saint-Michel-de-Maurienne
 
En sciences, dans les arts, la Renaissance italienne fascine au-delà des Alpes et son goût pour les cuivres fait école. Cornets à bouquin et sacqueboutes trouvent place à l’église pour doubler le chœur, de même que dans les cours pour le faste et l’éclat.
Selon les traités d’époque, les cuivres anciens ont avec la voix une parenté éloquente, cette voix dont la Renaissance avait fait un idéal pour exprimer le discours humain.
Rinascere s’inscrit avec originalité dans ce mouvement. Dans le Lamento della Ninfa de Monteverdi, les voix d’hommes laissent place au timbre expressif des cuivres. Pour le O gloriosa domina de Donati, c’est le cornet à bouquin qui imite la voix de soprano.
Renouant le dialogue avec la voix de soprano, les cuivres de Rinascere en partagent les affects avec éloquence dans les madrigaux de Monteverdi Zefiro torna, plein d’allégresse, contrastant avec Si dolce è’l tormento, pour les cœurs tourmentés.
 

Ensemble Rinascere

Rinascere naît de l’ambition partagée par six musiciens de porter un regard nouveau sur le répertoire pour cornets à bouquin, sacqueboutes et percussions. En particulier, l’idée d’un lien étroit entre les cuivres anciens et la voix devint une hypothèse dont la richesse appelait à être développée.
Rinascere élabore un récit musical de l’Europe de la Renaissance et du premier Baroque à travers des œuvres originales pour consort de cuivres et diverses transcriptions d’œuvres vocales ou de canzone pour ensemble à cordes, mêlant les esthétiques les plus variées des compositions de Caccini, Monteverdi, Gesualdo, Schein, Scheidt, Holborne, Castello, Frescobaldi, Gabrieli…
Diplômés des grandes institutions musicales de France et d’Allemagne et reconnus pour leurs qualités d’instrumentistes « modernes », ces musiciens s’attachent à offrir aux musiques des XVe, XVIe et XVIIe siècles une lumière actuelle.
 

Lise Viricel

débute le chant à 7 ans et intègre La Maîtrise de l’Opéra de Lyon où elle aborde un large répertoire tout en apprenant le théâtre, une double formation qu’elle s’attachera à poursuivre. En 2008, elle rejoint la classe de chant musique ancienne de Marie-Claude Vallin au CNSMD de Lyon ; elle y perfectionne sa connaissance des styles baroques, et sa technique soliste et chorale, par l’exercice du chant à un par voix, jusqu’au diplôme de Master en 2013.
Parallèlement, elle chante dans de nombreuses productions autour de Bach, Monteverdi, Purcell, Vivaldi, Carissimi, Rameau… A la scène, elle est Eurydice dans Orphée et Eurydice de Gluck, Eurialo dans L’Oristeo de Cavalli et Céphise dans Alcione de Marin Marais, sous la direction de Jordi Savall.
Elle se produit avec des ensembles prestigieux tels que Arsys Bourgogne, Concerto Soave ou La Chapelle Royale de Catalogne.
Enfin, elle incarne Jeanne dans Jeanne et la chambre à airs, spectacle jeune public pour enfants écrit par Karin Serres.
 
Mention obligatoire ?