MORAVIA – Artemisia_En

Programme
 
11:00 – Concert at Valloire church
Johann Heinrich Schmelzer (c. 1620-1680)
Sonata sesta in A major for violin and bass (Unarum Fidium, Vienna, 1664)
 
Ignazio Albertini (1644 – 1685)
Sonata decima in E minor for violin and basso continuo (Vienna, 1683)
 
Ferdinand Tobias Richter (1649 – 1711)
Toccatina in D minor for solo harpsichord
 
Heinrich Ignaz Franz Biber (1644 – 1704)
Sonata quinta a violino e basso, in E minor (Sonata, Salzburg, 1681)
 
12:00 – Promenade to chapelle Saint-Pierre
13:00 – Picnic on the alp with the musicians
14:30 – Libre cours lecture by Gaël de Kerret:
The Holy Empire, a melting pot of music styles?
16:00 – Promenade back to Valloire church

 
17:00 – Concert at Valloire church
Heinrich Ignaz Franz Biber
Sonata for violin and basso continuo “Representativa” in A major
 
Johann Heinrich Schmelzer
Sonata quarta in D major for violin and bass (Unarum Fidium, Vienna, 1664)
 
Alessandro Poglietti (? – 1683)
Il Rossignolo a cembalo solo (Vienna, 1676)
 
Georg Muffat (1653 – 1704)
Sonata in D major for violin and basso continuo (Prague, 1676)
 
Artemisia
Hélène Schmitt, violin and direction
Bruno Helstroffer, theorbo
François Guerrier, organ and harpsichord
 

Moravia: In the library of the Prince-Bishop of Kromeriz

Thursday July 30th Musical promenade
 
Far from the bustle of the Viennese court, somewhere in Moravia at the fringe of the Kingdom of Bohemia, then under Habsburg rule, there we are, in the small city of Kremsier (now Kromeriz in the Czech Republic), the residence of the Princes-Bishops of Olomouc. During his reign, from 1664 to 1695, Prince-Bishop Karl von Liechtenstein Kastelkorn, a well-read man and music lover, maintained privileged relationships with a number of musicians, notably Schmelzer, who was his musical adviser, and Biber, his first chapel master. Such was the prelate’s passion for music that he devoted considerable amounts of money to his own court music. Proof of it is a vast music collection kept in the castle library, patiently acquired from various sources, and including masses, motets, sonatas, dances and no fewer than fifty pieces for solo violin and basso continuo. Our programme takes the audience on a foray into this library, exploring whims, daydreams and meditations that go back to the second half of the 17th century.
 

Artemisia

The trio is composed of François Guerrier, harpsichordist, Bruno Helstroffer, theorbist, and Hélène Schmitt, violinist and artistic director. Passionate about baroque expression in Central Europe, Artemisia meets for very specific occasions, such as this programme of Moravian music.
 

François Guerrier

First Prize for harpsichord at the Paris CNSMD in 2001, François Guerrier is also an organist. As a soloist, he is invited by such renowned festivals as la Roque d’Anthéron, Saintes, Nantes, Aix-en-Provence…He plays with chamber music ensembles as well as within major baroque orchestras (Collegium Vocale Gent, Le Poème Harmonique…) His passion for vocal music drives him to work as accompanist with Camille Poul, Damien Guillon, Isabelle Druet… or again, to participate in the Jardin des Voix of the Arts Florissants.
 

Bruno Helstroffer

Together classical guitarist and theorbist, soloist and accompanist, performer and composer, Bruno Helstroffer is sought after as performer by such first-ranking conductors as Hervé Niquet, Leonardo García Alarcón, Vincent Dumestre, Raphaël Pichon, François Lazarevitch… Eager to explore all kinds of musical languages, he also plays with jazzmen (Michel Godard & Steve Swallow, David Chevallier, Jasser Haj Youssef…) or pop artists (Sapho, Moriarty).
 
For the biography of Hélène Schmitt:
see the page on the concert of Wednesday July 29th.

 
Interview Hélène Schmitt and Gaël de Kerret about the concerts performed in Valloire:

MORAVIE – Artemisia_Fr

Programme
 
11h – Concert à l’église de Valloire
Johann Heinrich Schmelzer (v. 1620 – 1680)
Sonata sesta en la majeur pour violon et basse (Unarum Fidium, Vienne, 1664)
 
Ignazio Albertini (1644 – 1685)
Sonata decima en mi mineur pour violon et basse continue (Vienne, 1683)
 
Ferdinand Tobias Richter (1649 – 1711)
Toccatina en ré mineur pour clavecin seul
 
Heinrich Ignaz Franz Biber (1644 – 1704)
Sonata quinta a violino e basso, en mi mineur (Sonate, Salzburg, 1681)
 
12h – Promenade à la chapelle Saint Pierre
13h – Déjeuner sur l’herbe avec les musiciens
14h30 – Libre cours à Gaël de Kerret : « L’unité musicale du Saint Empire ? »
16h – Retour à l’église de Valloire

 
17h – Concert à l’église de Valloire
Heinrich Ignaz Franz Biber
Sonate pour violon et basse continue « Representativa » en la majeur
 
Johann Heinrich Schmelzer
Sonata quarta en ré majeur pour violon et basse (Unarum Fidium, Vienne, 1664)
 
Alessandro Poglietti (? – 1683)
Il Rossignolo a cembalo solo (Vienne, 1676)
 
Georg Muffat (1653 – 1704)
Sonate en ré majeur pour violon et basse continue (Prague, 1676)
 
Ensemble Artemisia
Hélène Schmitt, violon et direction
Bruno Helstroffer, théorbe
François Guerrier, orgue et clavecin
 

Moravie : Dans la bibliothèque du Prince-Évêque de Kromeriz

Jeudi 30 juillet Promenade musicale
 
Loin de l’effervescence de la cour de Vienne, quelque part en Moravie aux confins de la Bohême dépendante des Habsbourg, nous voici dans la petite ville de Kremsier (l’actuelle Kromeriz en République tchèque), résidence des Princes-Évêques d’Olomouc. Durant son règne, de 1664 à 1695, le cultivé et mélomane Prince-Évêque Karl von Liechtenstein Kastelkorn entretint des relations privilégiées avec nombre de musiciens, notamment Schmelzer, qui fut son conseiller musical, et Biber, son premier Kapellmeister. La passion de ce prélat pour la musique était telle qu’il dépensa des sommes considérables pour l’établissement de sa musique de cour. En témoigne une large collection musicale, conservée dans la bibliothèque de son château, patiente acquisition de provenances variées, comprenant messes, motets, sonates, danses et pas moins de cinquante pièces pour violon seul et basse continue. Notre programme propose à l’auditeur une incursion dans cette bibliothèque, afin de lui restituer les foucades, les contemplations et les rêveries de cette deuxième moitié du XVIIe siècle.
 

Ensemble Artemisia

Ce trio est composé de François Guerrier, claveciniste, Bruno Helstroffer, théorbiste, et d’Hélène Schmitt, violoniste et directrice artistique. Passionné par le baroque d’Europe centrale, Artemisia se réunit pour des occasions très spécifiques telles que ce programme de musique morave.
 

François Guerrier

Premier prix de clavecin au CNSMD de Paris en 2001, François Guerrier est également organiste. Il est invité en tant que soliste par des festivals aussi réputés que La Roque d’Anthéron, Saintes, Nantes, Aix-en-Provence… Il se produit aussi bien en musique de chambre qu’au sein de grands ensembles (Collegium Vocale Gent, Le Poème Harmonique…) Sa passion pour la musique vocale l’amène à accompagner Camille Poul, Damien Guillon, Isabelle Druet… ou encore à participer au Jardin des Voix des Arts Florissants.
 

Bruno Helstroffer

Guitariste classique et théorbiste, soliste et accompagnateur, interprète et compositeur, Bruno Helstroffer est sollicité en qualité d’interprète par des chefs réputés tels que Hervé Niquet, Leonardo García Alarcón, Vincent Dumestre, Raphaël Pichon, François Lazarevitch… Pour autant, il se montre désireux d’explorer toutes sortes de langages musicaux, ce qui le conduit à jouer aussi bien avec des jazzmen (Michel Godard & Steve Swallow, David Chevallier, Jasser Haj Youssef…) qu’avec des artistes pop (Sapho, Moriarty).
 
Pour la biographie d’Hélène Schmitt :
voir à la page du concert du mercredi 29 juillet.

 
Mention obligatoire ?