The Festival

pic_dominiqueDominique Longchamp

In 2009, Dominique Longchamp brought together the founding team of the Festival Valloire baroque, a project whose main lines he had devised.

The team, about twenty persons, either native of Valloire or “adopted”, rapidly evolved into an organizing team, managed, year after year, since the first season of the festival in 2010, by the initiator of the project.

Today, strengthened by the cohesion and harmony of their team, the organizers are increasingly skilled in the tricks of their “trade”. They are proud to receive messages of encouragement, such as that of a Savoyard politician :“I congratulate you for the quality of the work  you have achieved to promote this wonderful event that does honour to the cultural programme of the Maurienne valley.”

 
 

The 2019 Season

Dominique Longchamp

President of  Amis du Festival Valloire baroque

 

On August 3rd 2010, the festival opened with great fanfare, the period brass instruments of the Compagnie du Globe brilliantly sounding Monteverdi’s Orfeo and Purcell’s Music for the Funeral of Queen Mary. The church was crowded with Valloire residents and holidaymakers, all curious about this unprecedented “event”, also possibly seeking shelter from the drizzle that wetted the footpaths that day.
 

On July 28th 2019, for the opening concert of the 10th festival, dedicated to Versailles, the Poème Harmonique will sound its trumpets in Lalande’s Symphonies pour les soupers du Roy.
 

Brass and drums each time, this year to celebrate an anniversary of sorts… But what have we achieved over these 9 years?
 

Of course, the festival has expanded beyond all hopes: from 7 to 13 concerts and 2 to 4 libre-cours lectures, occasionally adding baroque dance shows and films… 2014 saw the first edition of the Off, the fringe festival of La Traverse, open to “young” ensembles from the Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes region, also including the Valloire enchantéconcert by choral ensembles.
Between 2010 and 2018, the number of events has doubled, and so has attendance!
 

Year after year, the festival has invited the best specialists of the chosen theme; whether well-known artists, often first-ranking performers, or “young” talents, these musicians were elected for their sensitive approach, their virtuosity and their generous musical commitment.
As to the choice of works, was there anyone at first to imagine the festival would ever host such monuments as The St. Mathew Passion, Monteverdi’ Vespers, Handel’s Messiah, and Campra’s Requiem or… The Four Seasons by Amandine Beyer?
 

What is new then, in 2019? Firstly, shorter but denser, the festival adopts the more convenient and attractive format of the one-week stay. Secondly, to assert our local anchorage, as yet another “territorial” initiative, the brass class of the Saint-Jean-de-Maurienne Conservatoire has been invited to perform a Musical Divertimento, for a truly sparkling 10-year anniversary Versailles Buffet.
 

In this milestone year, I wish to express my gratitude to all those that have contributed to such success: our private-sector sponsors, our institutional supporters, the team’s volunteers and professionals, the artists, the private donors and naturally our unwaveringly loyal public.
 

From its very start, the Festival Valloire baroque has always been more than just a festival. Mixing “effort and exultation, as jointly required and provided by mountain hikes and the performance or audition of classical music”, it is a state of mind.
 

A happy festival to you all!

Le Festival

pic_dominiqueDominique Longchamp

Dominique Longchamp a réuni en 2009 l’équipe fondatrice du Festival Valloire baroque dont il avait conçu les bases essentielles.

Cette équipe s’est rapidement muée en équipe organisatrice, forte d’une vingtaine de personnes Valloirinches et « adoptives » conduites, depuis le 1er Festival en 2010 et année après année, par l’initiateur du projet.

Aujourd’hui, portés par la cohésion et l’harmonie de leur équipe, les organisateurs maîtrisent de plus en plus « leur métier » et c’est avec fierté qu’ils reçoivent des témoignages d’encouragement, tel celui d’un élu savoyard : « Je vous félicite pour la qualité du travail effectué pour promouvoir cette belle manifestation qui fait honneur à la programmation culturelle de la Maurienne  ».

 
 

Le Festival

Dominique Longchamp

Président des Amis du Festival Valloire baroque

Edito 2019
 

Le 3 août 2010, la Compagnie du Globe donnait, en concert inaugural, une brillante Sonnerie de cuivres anciens avec les incontournables Orfeo de Monteverdi et Funérailles de la Reine Mary de Purcell. L’église était bondée de Valloirins et d’estivants, curieux de la « nouveauté » et préférant le couvert de l’église à la fine pluie qui mouillait les sentiers ce jour-là.
 

Le 28 juillet 2019, le Poème Harmonique fera résonner les trompettes dans un programme de Symphonies pour les soupers du Roy de de Lalande, lors du concert d’ouverture du 10ème festival consacré à Versailles.
 

Cuivres et roulements de tambours dans les deux cas, qui résonnent aujourd’hui comme pour un anniversaire… mais qu’avons-nous fait de ces 9 ans ?
 

Pour sûr, le festival s’est développé au-delà de toute espérance : de 7 concerts et 2 libre-cours nous sommes passés à 13 concerts et 4 libre-cours, ajoutant occasionnellement la danse et le cinéma baroques… Parallèlement, nous créions en 2014 la Traverse, festival Off ouvert aux jeunes ensembles d’Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes et incluant le concert de choristes Valloire enchanté.
Entre 2010 et 2018, la programmation a été doublée et la fréquentation également !
 

Le festival a aussi constamment invité les meilleurs spécialistes du thème de l’année ; qu’ils soient reconnus, souvent même au sommet, ou jeunes talents, nous avons aimé ces artistes pour leur sensibilité, leur virtuosité et une intention musicale toujours généreuse.
Quant aux œuvres, qui aurait pensé au départ qu’on pourrait un jour accueillir ces monuments que sont la Passion selon Saint Matthieu, les Vêpres de Monteverdi, le Messie de Haendel, le Requiem de Campra ou… les Quatre Saisons par Amandine Beyer ?
 

Mais alors, quoi de neuf en 2019 ? D’une part le festival se densifie et il se recale sur une semaine touristique, pour gagner encore en attractivité. D’autre part, pour affirmer notre enracinement, nos initiatives « territoire » s’enrichissent de l’invitation de la classe de cuivres du Conservatoire de Saint-Jean-de-Maurienne, pour un pétillant Divertissement musical lors du Buffet versaillais de nos 10 ans.
 

A cette étape, je suis très heureux de remercier tous les contributeurs de ce succès : nos mécènes du secteur privé, nos soutiens institutionnels, les bénévoles et les professionnels de l’équipe, les artistes, les donateurs du mécénat des particuliers et, bien sûr, le public qui nous accorde sa confiance année après année.
 

Depuis le premier jour, le Festival Valloire baroque est plus qu’un festival, c’est un état d’esprit qui « fait se rejoindre goût de l’effort et jubilation, un double bonheur pareillement présent dans les promenades en montagne et dans la pratique ou l’écoute de la musique classique ».
 

Bon festival à tous !