The Season

pic_gaelGaël de Kerret
He has scoured European festivals and radio stations for about fifteen years, made a good twenty recordings, from Early music (A Sei Voci and Clemencic Consort) to contemporary compositions (2E2M, TM+, Groupe Vocal de France, Orchestre Philarmonique de Radio-France…) He has sung at the Fenice in Venice, at the Musikverein in Vienna, at the Utrecht festival and the Montpellier festival, or again, any number of times, at Radio-France, at the RCAM or within the Union européenne des Radios with such renowned conductors as Philippe Herreweghe, Jean-Claude Pennetier, Peter Eötvös or Jean-Claude Malgoire. In 1997, he also conducted the Children’s choir of the Paris national Opera for a dozen concerts and a recording. He is the Director of the baroque ensemble Les Cours Européennes, and Artistic Director of the music festival “Valloire baroque”. A passionate pedagogue, he is a Senior professor at the Versailles Conservatoire à Rayonnement Régional, where he teaches future professional singers.

The Neapolitan school

Gaël de Kerret

Artistic Director of the Festival Valloire baroque

A l’école de Naples.
Following Ciro Costabile, born and bred in Naples, we shall amble through “Neapolis”, i.e. the new city, and get acquainted with the most authentic interprets of its baroque repertoire.
But Naples is unlike any other city: it radiates music. Why so?

Long a jigsaw of states and kingdoms, Italy, as a country, never existed before the end of the 19th century. Owing to its strategic location on the Mediterranean coast, Naples was, understandably, much coveted and often invaded by many foreign powers. Nurtured by the influx of diverse, successive cultures, Naples then became a teeming reservoir, spawning its artistic influence throughout the whole of Europe, all the more easily as it had set up an education policy unparalleled in the Italian peninsula. Incidentally, the word “conservatoire” used to refer to music schools in France comes straight from the word conservatorio in Naples. In his lecture, on July 30th, Xavier Lacavalerie, author and critic, will enlighten us on the choice of the title of this year’s festival, together with Enrico Baiano, the most amazing of harpsichordists. On July 27th and 28th, the Neapolis ensemble and singer Maria Marone, drawing from the city’s musical melting pot, will offer us a highly contrasted programme of Neapolitan songs.

Tenor Pino de Vittorio, will stop at Valloire on July 29th and sing for us cantatas by the major Neapolitan composers, bound as he is by his exceptional vocal talent to travel the world. On August 1st, La Venexiana, the oft-rewarded ensemble, will guide us into new realms of musical sensitivity. Solely instrumental, the concert by Classica pizzicata, on August 3rd, will bring together such typically Neapolitan instruments as the mandolin and the baroque music of the leading composers of that period, breathing an extraordinary joie de vivre through new sounds! There will be more joie de vivre and musical surprises on August 4th with Francesco Cera’s two concerts which mingle popular songs with Domenico Scarlatti, the composer of 555 sonatas.

Reinvented by Le Concert de l’Hostel-Dieu, the Stabat Mater by Pergolesi, in a true-to-life format, will end our journey to baroque Naples. Was there any other way?

La Saison

pic_gaelGaël de Kerret

Il a parcouru l’Europe des festivals et des radios pendant une quinzaine d’années et enregistré une vingtaine de disques en abordant la musique ancienne (A Sei Voci et Clemencic Consort) et contemporaine (2E2M, TM+, Groupe Vocal de France, Orchestre Philarmonique de Radio-France, …). Il chanta entre autres à La Fenice de Venise, au Musikverein de Vienne, au festival d’Utrecht, de Montpellier, de nombreuses fois à Radio-France, à l’IRCAM ou dans le cadre de l’Union européenne des Radios avec des chefs comme Philippe Herreweghe, Jean-Claude Pennetier, Peter Eötvös ou Jean-Claude Malgoire. Il dirigea aussi, en 1997, le Chœur d’enfants de l’Opéra de Paris pour une dizaine de concerts et un enregistrement. Il est le Directeur de l’Ensemble baroque Les Cours Européennes, et, depuis sa création, Directeur Artistique du Festival Valloire baroque. Passionné par la pédagogie, il est Professeur hors classe et enseigne pour des chanteurs en cours de professionnalisation au Conservatoire à Rayonnement Régional de Versailles.

La Saison 2015

Gaël de Kerret

Directeur Artistique du Festival Valloire baroque

A l’école de Naples.
C’est grâce au napolitain Ciro Costabile que nous allons parcourir la « néapolis », la nouvelle ville, et découvrir les interprètes les plus authentiques de son répertoire baroque.
Mais Naples n’est pas une ville comme les autres: elle irradie de musique. Pourquoi?
Si nous prenons conscience que l’Italie n’a jamais existé jusqu’à la fin du XIXème siècle, divisée qu’elle était entre plusieurs Etats, on comprendra que Naples fut fort désirée et envahie par beaucoup de pays, du fait de sa position méditerranéenne stratégique. Cet apport de civilisations très diverses a fait de Naples un vivier tellement fructueux qu’il a essaimé ensuite dans toute l’Europe du fait supplémentaire qu’elle avait institué une politique d’enseignement inégalée dans la péninsule italienne. D’ailleurs le mot « conservatoire » pour désigner les écoles de musique en France vient directement du mot conservatorio à Naples. Le critique et écrivain Xavier Lacavalerie justifiera pour nous lors de sa conférence du 30 juillet le titre même du festival de cette année, bien entouré du claveciniste extraordinaire qu’est Enrico Baiano. Cette rencontre des peuples est incarnée par le Neapolis ensemble, le 27 et 28 juillet, et la chanteuse Maria Marone dans la chanson napolitaine riche de ses genres si divers.
Le 29 juillet fera entendre les cantates des principaux compositeurs napolitains par Pino de Vittorio, ténor qui ne peut que parcourir le monde de par son talent vocal. Le 1er aout, avec La Venexiana, nous découvrirons une sensibilité musicale qui s’impose et que nous fera partager cet ensemble primé tant de fois. Uniquement instrumental, le concert du 3 août avec Classica pizzicata fera se rencontrer les instruments napolitains spécifiques comme la mandoline avec la musique baroque des compositeurs marquants de cette époque: quelles sonorités surprenantes qui respirent la joie de vivre! Surprises sonores et joie de vivre seront aussi au rendez-vous des 2 concerts du 4 août de Francesco Cera mêlant les chants des peuples avec Domenico Scarlatti, le compositeur des 555 sonates.
Mais comment éviter pour finir le Stabat Mater de Pergolèse dont le contexte réinventé par Le Concert de l’Hostel-Dieu situe cette œuvre comme si nous étions encore à Naples!