Baroque colours from Lisbon to Rio de Janeiro

Le Sans Pareil - Bruno Procopio

João Rodrigues Esteves (vers 1700 – 1751 Lisbon)

José Gomes Veloso (Portugal 18th century)
Iste Sanctus

Marcos Portugal (1762 Lisbon – 1830 Rio de Janeiro)
Missa Grande (Excerpts)
Kyrie I – Christe – Kyrie II
Laudamus te
Qui sedes ad dexteram Patris
Cum Sancto Spiritu
Sanctus – Hosanna
Benedictus – Hosanna

José Maurício Nunes Garcia (1767 – 1830 Rio de Janeiro)
Requiem “Missa dos Defuntos” (1809)
Magnificat “Cântico de Nossa Senhora para às Vésperas de São José” (1810)


Popular Brazilian music for choir of 4 voices

Muié Rendêra (traditional)

Tristeza pé no Chão (Mamão)

Rosa Amarela (Villa-Lobos)


Le Sans-Pareil

Bruno Procopio organ and direction

Bruno Procopio orgue et direction

Françoise Masset soprano

Jean-Christophe Clair countertenor

David Lefort tenor

Sidney Fierro bass-baritone

Baroque colours from Lisbon to Rio de Janeiro

Monday July 28th – 15:00 – Espace Culturel Le Savoie in Saint-Michel-de-Maurienne

Tuesday July 29th – 21:00 – Valloire Church

This programme offers a selection of works recently restored by Brazilian and Portuguese musicologists.

The first part is dedicated to Portuguese composers of the early 18th century, Marcos Portugal and João Rodrigues Esteves. In his Magnificat, Esteves demonstrates a rare mastery of the Italian style, displaying much resemblance with the works of Roman composer Ottavio Pitoni.

Marcos Portugal is the most important composer both in Portugal and the New World in the 18th and 19th centuries. First composer at the court of Lisbon, he follows D. João VI to Rio de Janeiro. After the return of the royal family in 1821, he becomes the first composer of nascent Brazil with more than 150 sacred works composed for the Cathedral of Rio de Janeiro and no fewer than 40 operas.

The second part is a journey to the heart of the Cathedral of Rio de Janeiro at the end of the 18th century, when José Maurício Nunes Garcia, the most important Brazilian composer of the colonial period, was in charge of the music for the viceroy’s entourage.

Throughout the 18th century, the exchanges between Lisbon and Brazil, the most important Portuguese colony, went far beyond the mere importation of precious metals and trade goods, offering striking examples of cultural crossbreeding.

Le Sans Pareil – Les musiciens navigateurs 

When one goes back in time, in search of ancestral ties between Europe and the New World, one necessarily meets several figures of note. In 1394, a prince of the royal house of Portugal was born, Infante Dom Henrique, nicknamed Henry the Navigator at the age of 20. His birth marked the beginning of the golden age of the Portuguese colonial empire. Doubling the Cape of Good Hope, Vasco de Gama sailed to India, then, in 1500, Pedro Alvarez Cabral landed on the shore of what was to become Brazil, amazing discoveries which Henry the Navigator did not live to see. Six centuries later, in 1994, Bruno Procopio, the precocious Brazilian harpsichordist, arrived in France to hone his instrumental skills, nurtured throughout his youth on this singular repertoire now called colonial Brazilian music. The term colonial in no way implies that this Brazilian music was nothing but a picturesque replica of Europe’s musical canons imposed by Portuguese conquerors. Indeed, once the rush for gold and precious timber had slackened, the time for cultural exchange promptly followed, as shown by the innumerable Portuguese Baroque churches in Minas Gerais and the emergence in the 18th century of a repertoire of sacred music, the distinctive legacy of the masters of Lisbon. To bear witness to this abundance of musical works, Bruno Procopio founded the “Solistes du Palais Royal”, supported by a number of Brazilian musicologists. Besides its privileged relationship with the colonial style, the ensemble also navigates European music, with a predilection for the composers who, through exchanges with the new world have contributed to the musical diversity of the Portuguese court. Le Sans-Pareil, the flagship dreamed up by par Louis XV, yet never actually built, is thus now afloat. Casting off its moorings at the Palais Royal in Paris, a musical caravel puts out to sea. Paying a distant homage to Dom Henrique, Les Musiciens Navigateurs, led by Bruno Procopio, are again headed for Brazil, the hold packed with a wealth of musical experience, eager to discover the treasures in store for them, an ocean away.
The July 28th concert is organizedACCM in partnership with the Espace Culturel Le Savoie
Le Sans Pareil Website.

Baroques de Lisbonne à Rio de Janeiro

Le Sans Pareil - Bruno Procopio

Programme

Marcos Portugal (1762 Lisbonne – 1830 Rio de Janeiro)

Missa Grande (Extraits)

 

João Rodrigues Esteves (vers 1700 – 1751 Lisbonne)

Magnificat

 

José Maurício Nunes Garcia (1767 – 1830 Rio de Janeiro)

Requiem

Magnificat «Cântico de Nossa Senhora para às Vésperas de São José (1810)

 

Musique populaire brésilienne pour chœur à 4 voix

Muié Rendêra (domaine populaire)

Tristeza pé no Chão (Mamão)

Rosa Amarela (Villa-Lobos)

Le Sans Pareil

Bruno Procopio orgue et direction

NN soprano

NN alto

NN ténor

NN basse

Baroques de Lisbonne à Rio de Janeiro

Lundi 28 juillet 2014 - 15h – Espace Culturel Le Savoie à Saint-Michel-de-Maurienne

Mardi 29 juillet 2014 - 21h – Eglise de Valloire

Ce programme propose une sélection d’œuvres récemment restaurées par des musicologues brésiliens et portugais.

La première partie est dédiée aux compositeurs portugais du début du XVIIIème siècle, Marcos Portugal et João Rodrigues Esteves. Le Magnificat de Esteves révèle une parfaite maîtrise du style italien et une grande affinité stylistique avec le compositeur romain Ottavio Pitoni.

Marcos Portugal est le plus important compositeur du Portugal et du Nouveau Monde aux XVIIIème et XIXème siècles. Premier compositeur de la cour de Lisbonne, il suit D. João VI à Rio de Janeiro. Après le retour de la famille royale en 1821, il devient le premier compositeur du Brésil naissant avec plus de 150 œuvres sacrées composées pour la Cathédrale de Rio et pas moins de 40 opéras.

La deuxième partie est un voyage au cœur de la Cathédrale de Rio de Janeiro à la fin du XVIIIème  siècle, où José Maurício Nunes Garcia, le plus important compositeur brésilien de l’époque coloniale, était responsable pour la musique de l’entourage du vice‐roi.

Tout au long du XVIIIème siècle, les échanges entre Lisbonne et le Brésil, sa plus importante colonie, ne se sont pas résumés à l’importation de richesses minières et de marchandises: le domaine culturel offre des exemples tout à fait saisissants d’inculturation.

Le Sans Pareil – Les musiciens navigateurs 

Lorsque l’on remonte les siècles à la recherche des liens ancestraux entre l’Europe et le Nouveau Monde, émergent quelques figures de proue. Se souvient-on qu’en 1394 naissait d’une famille princière du Portugal l’Infante Dom Henrique, celui que l’on surnommera à vingt ans Henri le Navigateur. C’est là que s’ouvre l’âge d’or de l’empire colonial portugais, qui voit Vasco de Gama doubler le Cap de Bonne-Espérance pour atteindre l’Inde, puis Pedro Alvarez Cabral accoster en 1500 sur une plage du futur Brésil. Mais Henri le Navigateur n’aura pas vu ces découvertes de son vivant. Six cents ans plus tard, en 1994, Bruno Procopio, très jeune claveciniste brésilien, arrive en France pour y perfectionner son apprentissage instrumental. Sa jeunesse a été baignée de ce répertoire très particulier que l’on appelle musique coloniale brésilienne. Le terme colonial n’implique pas une forme artistique imposée par l’occupant portugais, qui ne serait qu’un pittoresque reflet des canons européens. Une fois passée la frénésie initiale d’appropriation de l’or et des bois précieux, vint en effet le temps des échanges culturels. Le foisonnement de l’architecture baroque portugaise dans les églises du Minas Gerais en témoigne. Et la musique ne fut pas en reste, avec l’émergence au XVIIIème siècle d’une musique sacrée, singulière héritière des maîtres de Lisbonne. C’est pour témoigner de cette richesse musicale que Bruno Procopio fonde dès 2004, avec le soutien de musicologues brésiliens, les “Solistes du Palais Royal”. Outre sa relation privilégiée avec le style colonial, l’ensemble parcourt aussi bien la musique européenne, et plus particulièrement les compositeurs qui ont contribué, au travers d’échanges avec le Nouveau Monde, à la pluralité musicale de la cour du Portugal. Aujourd’hui, le Sans-Pareil, ce Vaisseau amiral rêvé par Louis XV et qui ne vit jamais le jour, se réincarne. Une caravelle musicienne détache ses amarres du Palais-Royal pour prendre le large. En hommage lointain à Dom Henrique, les Musiciens Navigateurs, emmenés par Bruno Procopio, repartent à la rencontre du Brésil. Ils Emmènent à bord les talents cumulés d’une longue pratique musicale, et sont avides de découvertes à venir de l’autre côté de l’Océan.

Lien vers le site web de l’ensemble Le Sans Pareil.